Welcome Guest! You have 4 free reads leftLogin/Register
You Are Here: Home » News » City selects Jarmen to seat

City selects Jarmen to seat

City selects Jarmen to seat

For the first time this year, every seat on the Farmersville City Council was filled last week.

At its Feb. 11 meeting, the City Council voted to fill the seat vacated by the resignation of Michael Santana. In a letter dated Dec. 19, 2012, Santana wrote “I regrettably submit my resignation for my position on the Farmersville City Council. I will be focusing my time, energy and resources toward my son’s recovery. Due to his extensive injury and 24 hour care required, I cannot represent and administer the functions of my position at this time.” Santana was first elected to the City Council in 2002 and has been elected to three consecutive terms. He served as the City’s mayor from 2008-2010.

The Council had letters of interest from four candidates seeking to fill Santana’s seat: Paul Boyer, Doug Terry, Matthew Sisk and Paul Jarmen. After hearing from each candidate and much discussion, the City Council selected Jarmen to fill the vacant seat. He was immediately sworn in by City Manager Rene Miller and took his seat on the board. He will serve the remaining two years of Santana’s term through November 2014.

“The people should be electing a new council member, but a special election is so expensive,” Councilman Don Rowlett said. “If I were voting I would vote for Paul [Boyer] who came in third in the recent election, but people in Farmersville want change and I strongly suspect that if Mr. Gomez had a twin we would have both been out.”

Council members Greg Gomez, Larry Miller and Rowlett voted to nominate Jarmen, giving him the three needed for the nomination.

“I want new blood on the council,” Councilman Miller said. “Terry and Boyer have been on the board before and Matt seems a little young so I nominate Jarmen.”

Jarmen has lived in Farmersville for 20 years. He lived in the Los Angeles area, then Fresno before settling in Farmersville because he likes “the small town feel.” Jarmen said he found out about the open council seat while attending a Planning Commission meeting.

“I will be a person for limited government,” he said. “I will be a conservative voice on the council.”

The Council did appoint Doug Terry to the Measure R Oversight Committee. The nominee had to be a non-elected official. Terry, a former City Councilmember who came in fourth in November’s election, will represent the City on the committee which monitors TCAG’s funding of regional and local transportation projects paid for by the half-cent sales tax increase approved by voters in 2006.


In other news:

Due to lack of funds the Council voted not to send a representative to the Tulare County Association of Government (TCAG) in Washington.

Agreed with a 30% design contract with Quad Knof as to meet a deadline with SCE for a potential cost savings of $450,000.

Agreed to and energy partnership with SCE and Sothern California Gas Company known as the “View Energy Leader Partnership.”

Clip to Evernote

About The Author

Number of Entries : 241



Powered by Facebook Comments

© 2012 - 2015 The Foothills Sun-Gazette ~ Powered By Wordpress

Scroll to top